V Mining Journalism Contest EXPOMIN 2016 will award the best journalistic works on mining in Chile, sponsored by Sandvik

The Organizing Committee of the EXPOMIN Fair, the Association of Journalists of Chile and the Chilean chapter of the Interamerican Association of Journalists of Economy and Finance, AIPEF CHILE, are pleased to invite all journalists (reporters, editors and directors) of national and international media working in Chile as well as students of journalism of Chilean universities to participate as candidates in the various categories of "Mining Journalism" Award, in its fifth version 2016. The contest is sponsored Sandvik, a high-technology engineering industrial group and a world leader in machining, materials technology, mining and construction.

Promoting the creation of journalistic works related to mining and the strengthening of knowledge of this industry, the organization of EXPOMIN 2016 called for all journalists, both reporters, editors and publishers, of national and international media developing their work in Chile, as well as students of journalism of Chilean universities to participate in the "EXPOMIN MINING JOURNALISM AWARD 2016". The initiative seeks that media professionals take part of the contest with their most outstanding works, which will postulate to categories of: Mining Journalism Award, national audio and audiovisual media mention; Mining Journalism Award, national print media mention; Mining Journalism Award, regional audio and audiovisual media mention and Mining Journalism Award, regional print media mention. The contest will reward the work of the journalist who stands out for its professionalism, serious and thorough investigation, data collection and accurate precision, analytical capacity, coverage and interviews specialized in the field of development and mining culture, providing the public with information of concern to the life of their community, geographical area, social or organizational group; and to boost national mining.

It is worth mentioning that the Jury President will be the prominent journalist and academic, Abraham Santibañez, 2015 National Journalism Award.

The awards in the regional category will be awarded to professional journalists whose work has been published in a media in regional cities. Meanwhile, the national category awards will be given to professional journalists whose works has been published in a media of Santiago. Each applicant must specify which of the four awards postulates and can only do so in one of the categories.

Each of the winners will receive US$ 1,700, a symbolic commemorative plaque and a diploma. In addition, there are other two general honorable mentions for professionals, in each of which the author will be awarded a symbolic commemorative plaque and a diploma, awards that will be awarded them during the official opening of EXPOMIN, on April 25th.

For the first time, it includes a Special Honorable Mention to recognize the best work submitted by students of Journalism careers across the country.

In addition, it is sponsored by the Government of Chile, Ministry of Mining, Cochilco, SERNAGEOMIN, Enami, ProChile, CIE Chile Sonami, Mining Council, Aprimin, Cesco, Codelco, SOFOFA, MinnovEX.

The deadline for the submission of works is from October 1, 2015 to March 11, 2016, until 18:00 for deliveries by hand; and at 21:00 electronically.

The winners of this contest will receive awards from the Minister of Mining and the President of the Chile’s Journalist Association, the President of Chile's Mining Council, the General Manager of the Mining Supplier Association, Aprimin, among others.

For those interested in participating, the detailed rules of the contest and sending contacts of works are available on the website of the EXPOMIN Fair www.expomin.cl The contest rules can be found here.

<< Back